Govind Singh Tank will be the new Mayor of Udaipur.

Bhartiya Janta Party’s candidate Govind Singh Tank has become the new Mayor of Udaipur’s Municipal Corporation by getting 46 votes on Tuesday.

While Congress  candidate Arun Tank that was contesting against Singh has got 20 votes, one vote went to Nota and 3 councillors didnot casted their votes out of total 70 elected councillors. 

Later Singh took the oath as Mayor in the presence of Leader of Opposition Gulab Chand Kataria.

At Kanod Nagar Palika Chanda Meena of Congress has been elected  as the President after a small political drama as the Janta Sena has refused to participate in voting and returned without casting votes.
The polling for the election of Mayor in Udaipur has been done on Tuesday morning. 

All the elected councillors of Udaipur Municipal Corporation reached at the Municipal Office to cast their votes, on the other hand the leader of opposition BJP Gulab Chand Kataria also reached at the Municipal Office to support and guide BJP’s councillors, he was accompanied by BJP’s candidate Govind Singh Tank.

The BJP in Udaipur was earlier claiming to have support of total 44 councillors and also said that even few independent councillors are also in their support.
MLA Gulab Chand Kataria had already claimed to win the position of Mayor.

Notably this is for the time that Congress party too has nominated its candidate to contest for the position of Mayor against BJP.

Both the candidates has filled the nomination paperson 21st November from Udaipur and one of the nomination came from Kanod Nagar Palika.
The polling for more than 2000 ward councillers in 49 civic bodies  was held on Saturday  and the results has been declared on Tuesday.

In Udaipur BJP has won at 43 Municipal  Corporarion wards, Congress begged 20 wards and 7 wards were captured by Independent Candidatesout total 70 wards.



17 − 15 =